Warning Spoof Email Notice from Ebay
Just wanted to share a warning about a Spoof Email pretending to be from Ebay that is re-circulating the net in a slightly altered form. The email message pretends to be from ebay and like all these phishing emails encourages you to sign in and fix something on your account.
Other than the fact that ebay never sends these types of messages, I was tipped off by the fact that it was sent to an email address of mine that is not associated with an ebay account at all.
I have no idea who the FPA is supposed to be.
The actual link (if you click on it in the email and I definitely do not advise clicking on it in any situation not even to see what is on the other side) points to the following address:
http://fl-65-40-13-231.sta.embarqhsd.net/ws/aw-cgi/eBayISAPI.php?MfcISAPICommand=SignIn&co_partnerId=2&pUserId=&siteid=0&page
Type=&pa1=&i1=&bshowgif=&UsingSSL=&ru=http%3A%2F%2Fwww.ebay.com&pp=&pa2=&errmsg=&runame=&ruparams=&
ruproduct=&sid=&favoritenav=&confirm=&ebxPageType=&
existingEmail=&isCheckout=&migrateVisitor=
That sure does not look like an ebay address even though they disguise it to look like
https://signin.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?SignIn
The email message looks like this
Here is a link to an older version of this spooffing email dated from just a couple weeks ago, so it looks like the scammers are already adapting.
Reporting Phishing or Spoof Emails from ebay
Ebay provides the following site to accept reports from people around the world about spoofing and phishing attacks and other issues. You can also do a google search on the keywords ebay report phishing and look for the Security and Resolution Center at ebay which is a couple clicks away.
These types of things typically appear to be sourced out of Russia, but it is just as possible that someone from any where in the world is just using a host that allows this type of behavior from within Russia. It could just as easily be someone next door, in the next state or even a teenage prankster on a Kissimmee vacation with her parents just seeing what they can do. Regardless, of where they are or who they are it is very dangerous for a person to fall victim to this type of action. If you click on this type of link, contact the credit bureaus and take steps to protect your credit. Then do a top to bottom spyware and virus check on your machine.
